Journalists work in a dangerous Environment

img_2016

My Billy Graham scoop in 1979!

I believe thet demons manifest today, especially where money and control are the objectives.

Apostle Paul got into trouble (Acts 16:16ff) when he cast out demons from “a slave girl who had a spirit of divination and brought her owners much gain by fortune-telling”. Her owners were furious. Why? Demons made them rich!

In our day and age, I contend that the media is the equivalent of that Acts 16 encounter. Owners, editors, directors, reporters, readers/listeners/viewers crave for “something extra”.

It is mostly the same even in the Christian media. I look journalists and editors in the eye, and I feel the forces that are driving them. They are like blood-thirsty hounds.

I was a pretty good journalist as a young man. I was offered jobs in the largest newspapers. Probably it is no coincidence that I have spoken as a Christian leader  more than 500 times on secular, far-reaching tv channels during the past 24 years.

As a young journalist I made some real journalistic scoops. The one that I am still proud of was my huge personal interview with Billy Graham, published on January 9th, 1979.

But my worst ethical failure also came as a young journalist. I was a reporter in a popular magazine with a respected Christian editor. I suggested that I make a story about a missionary family that had lost daddy on a mission in the jungles of Congo. I flew to their city, and we had a great time. They trusted me. After all, I was the young and promising pentecostal leader-in-the-making. But when I flew home that night, I got an idea to exploit the trust and make a speculative “true story”. I suggested it to the editor, and he agreed. He pushed that issue. The full color ads were on every bus and train in Norway. I was proud of my achievement.The sales soared.

But one day the bereaved family called me and sobbed. I suddenly discovered what I had done. It was “a true story”, but like a knife that pierced their hearts. That day in 1979, I decided to never do that again.

I know the forces of hell that work in the media.

I believe in the media. I trust several journalists and editors. But I also know that there are forces that drive their industry that we must not fool around with. Journalists work in a dangerous Environment….

About Jan-Aage Torp

Jan-Aage Torp - married to Aina; born in Japan; raised in Thailand; educated in USA; Director of European Apostolic Leaders (EAL); pastors Restoration Oslochurch with Aina.
This entry was posted in English. Bookmark the permalink.