Today, my father Aage Torp would have turned 90

My dad & me in 1966.

My dad & me in 1966. Copyright 2014: Jan-Aage Torp.

This week, my wife Aina & I are ministering in Thailand. What a wonderful week!

Today is special for me, because while we are here in Bangkok, we will commemorate that on this day my father Aage Torp would have turned 90 years old!

My dad loved Jesus, my mom, my sister & me, and many other people as well.

He was born on October 8th, 1924 in Skiptvedt, Norway, and was promoted to glory on November 24th, 1983. I held his hand and whispered into his ears as he passed away at Oslo University Hospital Ullevål.

Our family photo in 1966. Copyright 2014: Liv-Ellinor and Jan-Aage Torp.

Our family photo in 1966. Copyright 2014: Liv-Ellinor and Jan-Aage Torp

My dad was born again in his early twenties, and soon entered the ministry as an itinerant minister within the Pentecostal Movement of Norway. In 1953, he met Anne Bakaas, who became the love of his life! She had already been a missionary in China, Taiwan and Japan for 7 years. Aage was a declared missionary candidate. They married that year, and soon travelled to Japan after my sister Liv-Ellinor was born in 1954. I was born in Kyoto, Japan in 1957.

We were a tight-knit family. In Japan, my parents led church planting and media ministry in various cities.

In 1962 we responded to God´s call to go to Thailand. Here followed 9 blessed years with church planting, media ministry, and ministry to orphans.

My dad baptized me in this lake in Bangkok on April 28th, 1968. Copyright 2014: Jan-Aage Torp.

My dad baptized me in this lake in Bangkok on April 28th, 1968. Copyright 2014: Jan-Aage Torp.

In 1971 we returned to Oslo, Norway, and dad led an effective bookstore for theological students and spiritual seekers, and my parents pastored as well.

Today, I am commemorating and honoring my father, Aage Torp. I still love and cherish his precious memory! Thank you, Pappa!

About Jan-Aage Torp

Jan-Aage Torp - married to Aina; born in Japan; raised in Thailand; educated in USA; Director of European Apostolic Leaders (EAL); pastors Restoration Oslochurch with Aina.
Gallery | This entry was posted in English. Bookmark the permalink.