The Challenge of Witch Accusations in Africa

skjermbilde-2013-04-11-kl-07-17-10Together with my team at Oslo Healing Center, God has used me to cast out demons. In modern Norway.

However, I must admit that there is reason to be concerned by the lack of spiritual discernment and medical insight that some of my friends have demonstrated as they have tried to expulse demons. I have been appalled by the false accusations of demon-possession and witchcraft, even in Norway! There is a tendency to use these lofty claims to gain power and control over others. I have consistently dealt decisively with this, even having to sever ties with ministers who claim to have spiritual insight and expertise. This is simply false spirituality!

Let me establish, though, that the New Testament shows clearly that demons are for real. Even my modern-day experience undergirds this.

However, most problems in life are not demonic in nature. There are medical and psychological conditions that often are wrongly deemed as demonic: Delusions, nervousness, fears, identity issues, physical illnesses, family problems, material needs etc. I have learned to treat most conditions as normal human problems. I encourage a close cooperation with medical doctors, psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, school teachers, family members etc. They are normally very happy to help with their expertise and experience.

Once in a while, I find that problems are demonic in nature. Then the New Testament message is clear: As a believer in Christ Jesus, I have the authority to cast out demons!

I was happy to read reports in Christianity Today this week about a consultation of 50 African pastors and theologians in Nairobi, Kenya addressing the growing problems in Africa of false accusations of witchcraft. Some of the Africans participating in the consultation are leading representatives of the Pentecostal-Apostolic worldwide reformation. This is good, dear brethren! We need to be alert and show the New Testament way in the 20th century!

About Jan-Aage Torp

Jan-Aage Torp - married to Aina; born in Japan; raised in Thailand; educated in USA; Director of European Apostolic Leaders (EAL); pastors Restoration Oslochurch with Aina.
Gallery | This entry was posted in English. Bookmark the permalink.