We are staying the Course, just like Lester Sumrall and the Champions of Faith!

Jan-Aage Torp and Lester Sumrall ministering together on the Sea of Galilee in 1991

Jan-Aage Torp and Lester Sumrall ministering together on the Sea of Galilee in 1991

“Remember those who rule over you, who have spoken the word of God to you, whose faith follow, considering the outcome of their conduct.  Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever” (Hebrews 13:7-8).

Today, I have had the opportunity to reflect over the important questions of life. I am digitalizing old video recordings from 1991 and after. Here is much good, and also some things that make me sad.

Most of all, I am grateful that I have been able to stay the course during all of these 22 years, which truly have been stormy. By God´s grace, I have spoken God´s Word in Europe´s most difficult conflicts. I have seen and heard video recordings of my participation in countless national debates. Everything can be done better,  but my “Christianese” critics ought to watch this themselves, and they would thank God!

My sadness is about the many who have stayed the course only a little while in the battle for Europe, and who have become backslidden, lukewarm, fearful…. I understand them, but there is no excuse. God gives strength and grace, if we are willing. When a person chooses to walk the path of the flesh, then they must blame themselves, and not God, and neither their Christian brothers and sisters.

One of my precious memories is about the champion of faith, Lester Sumrall. From 1990 until 1995, I had the joy of building a close relationship with him. He preached for us every year in Lillestrøm, and I was a guest on his great TV channel in the US on some occasions. He was a big encouragement for me. Last time he preached for us was in 1995, nine months before he went to be with the Lord. Thank you, Jesus, for such examples as Lester Sumrall who faithfully served his Lord and Master for his whole life! That´s how Aina & I want to live!

About Jan-Aage Torp

Jan-Aage Torp - married to Aina; born in Japan; raised in Thailand; educated in USA; Director of European Apostolic Leaders (EAL); pastors Restoration Oslochurch with Aina.
Gallery | This entry was posted in English. Bookmark the permalink.