How I became a Man of Prayer!

Torp i kirkeruinene6I´ve always believed in prayer, but I haven´t always enjoyed it!

I remember how I as a 17 year old started praying every morning. I was entrusted with a key to the main entrance to Filadelfia Church in Oslo to lead early morning prayer 5 mornings a week at 5am. It was great, but it sure was a struggle. My self-discipline pulled me through. This went on for 3-4 years.

Then I became a member of the Lausanne Committee for World Evangelization (LCWE) under Leighton Ford and Billy Graham, and they invited me to be a member of the 5-man world Intercession Advisory Group, led by Mrs. Bill Bright, Vonette. That was a great learning experience, but I must admit that it was way beyond my competency! Especially when I in 1984 was a member of the steering committee of the World Congress for Prayer in Seoul, South Korea.

The problem was that now I wasn´t praying so much any more…. I guess that my seeming success as a significant young church leader became more important that being a man of God!

For years my prayer life was on and off, mostly off. I believed in prayer, I practiced prayer, I led prayer – but it wasn´t really deep.

Then tragedy struck in my life almost 5 years ago. And now I started praying – in earnest….

Since 2007-08 I have become a man of prayer. For real!

My whole being is filled with longing for time with God. I seek Him morning and evening, day and night, awake and asleep, groaning and speaking, laughing and crying, sunshine and rain, joyous and mourning, believing and doubting.

It´s really a fulfillment of the promise in James 1:2-8:

“My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.  If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him. But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for he who doubts is like a wave of the sea driven and tossed by the wind. For let not that man suppose that he will receive anything from the Lord; he is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways”.

Trials change us. They changed Job, they changed Paul. They change you, they change me.

Prayer is dynamite. In prayer we govern the world.

About Jan-Aage Torp

Jan-Aage Torp - married to Aina; born in Japan; raised in Thailand; educated in USA; Director of European Apostolic Leaders (EAL); pastors Restoration Oslochurch with Aina.
Gallery | This entry was posted in English. Bookmark the permalink.