Why Are We Persecuted?

I used to be one of Norway´s many middle-of-the-road Christian leaders. In the 1980´s I was the obvious selection for the ecumenical committees. There was no danger in being associated with me…

This has changed totally since 1991.

I suddenly became Norway´s most controversial charismatic pastor.

Why?

I didn´t change in my heart.

It was simply God.

I remember the Swedish pastor-prophet Bror Spetz (1926-2007) when he ministered at our church in Lillestrøm on October 20th, 1991. He suddenly prophesied over me – in public – that I would become a Jeremiah and Ezekiel in our nation. I didn´t like it! I wanted to be Mr.Popular 🙂

Bror Spetz´ shocking words were: “When the enemies rise up against you, when the gossip tongues are unleashed against you, you have nothing to fear, because I will shut up their tongues. But your tongue shall rejoice in the victory that I the Lord am preparing”.

Since then I have spoken 400+ times on national, secular television and radio. I have received numerous death threats. I have been betrayed by preachers, friends and family. The critics are always looking for something new to criticize…

In the midst of this I have seen great victories!

I´m still the same boy that longed for God as a teenager. I´m more determined than ever to fulfill God´s calling on my life for the good of Europe and the nations of the world.

It should´t surprise us that Christian apostles and prophets are persecuted. Jesus was too, remember?

“Remember the word that I said to you, ‘A servant is not greater than his master.’ If they persecuted Me, they will also persecute you. If they kept My word, they will keep yours also. But all these things they will do to you for My name’s sake, because they do not know Him who sent Me” (John 15:20-21)

In November 2011 I heard a great message by the Brazilian apostle Rene Terra Nova about the blessings of persecution and opposition. He said that God Himself raises up the opponents so that new territories can be conquered for the Kingdom.

During the past two years we had planned and hoped for some quiet.

But God raised up new opposition so that His Kingdom would advance, even while I was tending to my personal needs.

Don´t be worried when you are persecuted for the gospel. Jesus was too!

About Jan-Aage Torp

Jan-Aage Torp - married to Aina; born in Japan; raised in Thailand; educated in USA; Director of European Apostolic Leaders (EAL); pastors Restoration Oslochurch with Aina.
Gallery | This entry was posted in English. Bookmark the permalink.