The Sikh on the Train in India, and Buddhists in Thailand

Some years ago I was sitting on the train in India and discovered to my evangelistic glee that my neighbor was a Sikh.

I prepared well by praying in my heart to God (in tongues!), that He would give me the right words and open his heart for the Gospel.

After a good and long conversation during the eight hour long journey, I discovered something amusing: Exactly like I was cordially trying to present the Gospel to him, he was attempting to win me over to the Sikh faith….

I chose to share with him my observation, and we both laughed heartily.

Basically, this is because we are all human beings who seek truth, perhaps the Truth.

But at the same time we must learn to show each other respect, give each other space, and be willing to listen and learn.

I respect that he had a rigid faith, and he showed me the same respect.

I grew up as a missionary kid in Japan and Thailand. I look back with gratitude for how mom & dad gave their lives for Jesus among the Japanese and the Thais. They led many unto faith in Christ. But at the same time they showed respect to all. Among the Buddhists in Bangkok our family had our best friends!

About Jan-Aage Torp

Jan-Aage Torp - married to Aina; born in Japan; raised in Thailand; educated in USA; Director of European Apostolic Leaders (EAL); pastors Restoration Oslochurch with Aina.
Gallery | This entry was posted in English. Bookmark the permalink.