Ravishing Concert at Oslo Opera

The Oslo Opera House

Last Sunday, Aina & I went to a concert at the Oslo Opera House, furnished with gift tickets from our good friend, Gaute Bærem (my Best Man!).

Five days later, and the music and songs are still sounding in my ears!

What ravishing magic!

Now, I haven´t been to the opera much since I was young. But in my teens I studied to become an opera singer. My tutors were Lars Ottestad Sunde and Frederica Antoniussen. My problem was that I was also a young revivalist, and every weekend I would be out preaching the gospel. Come Monday, my throat was sore and my voice was hoarse. Mr. Lars and Mrs. Frederica would look smilingly (teasingly sad) at me and say: “Jan-Aage must choose between the Vienna Opera and Filadelfia Church…”. Good memories!

But on Sunday, Aina & I were enthralled by beautiful music!

Grammy Award-winning American soprano Christine Brewer

The soloist in concert was the world reknown, Grammy Award-winning American soprano from St.Louis, Missouri, Christine Brewer, accompanied by Warren Jones at the piano.

Ms. Brewer´s voice is magical in its depth and vibrancy. She sang classic Wagner songs, but her interpretation of “Letters from George to Evelyn” (Alan Smith) were beautiful and more magical than anything else.

George was fighting for the Allies in WWII. On November 22nd, 1944 he wrote to Evelyn from France:

“It is still inconceivable to me that you have chosen to share your life with me…a love which has given me a new life, a new goal and a new approach to heaven”

Then the sad telegram from the Secretary of War to Evelyn on April 2nd, 1945:

“First Lieutenant Honts George W. was killed in action in Germany 25 March 45…”.

Christine Brewer sang ravishingly and captured our hearts.

After the break she sang lovely “Echoes of Nightingales”.

The song that keeps coming back in my heart and emotions during the past five days is Christine´s rendering of Benjamin Britten´s song: “Tell me the Truth about Love”.

Thank you, dear Gaute, for the tickets!

And thank you, Christine Brewer and Warren Jones, for a memorable concert! See you next time!

About Jan-Aage Torp

Jan-Aage Torp - married to Aina; born in Japan; raised in Thailand; educated in USA; Director of European Apostolic Leaders (EAL); pastors Restoration Oslochurch with Aina.
Gallery | This entry was posted in English. Bookmark the permalink.